Making arrows

For those of you who prefer traditional archery methods.
coyotewhacker
2018 Member of the Year

Making arrows

Post by coyotewhacker » March 19th, 2004, 10:42 am

Might as well open this up since I already posed a question related to the subject: how many of you build your own arrows, with either wood or man-made shafts, what type of feathers or vanes do you prefer, etc. How long have you been at your craft, do you crest your shaft, just a general description of what you do in your arrow making....
I have been making my own arrows for several years. Until now it has been exclusively aluminum shafts for compound bows. It started with a need to replace shot-thru vanes while practicing a lot and getting better groups. After a while, I tried feathers and found that the shoot-thru problem went away but natural feathers didn't hold up well in damp hunting conditions. Then two years ago I had to take up the crossbow, and fletching bare bolts or refletching old ones presented a new challenge. Most crossbows have a large diameter string and regular nocks will not work, so they normally have either a flat back or half moon back type nock. Those do not fit in the nock receiver of a regular fletcher. The folks at Grayling sent me several blank receivers to play with, and I eventually came up with a receiver to register the shaft correctly for a three fletch bolt, and also to set the fletching further away from the nock to clear the scope/sight mount on the crossbow. Now I am becoming interested in trying my luck with some true traditional arrows with dipped and crested shafts, Black Widow style two color shield cut feathers
and glue on broadheads. Any tips about your experience with this type arrow would be greatly appreciated.
We're on a mission from God.
Jake & Elwood Blue

sharps4590
2018 Member of the Year

Re: Making arrows

Post by sharps4590 » March 20th, 2004, 10:39 am